Suppress updates to customer-maintained Companies in ServiceNow

Connector Applicability

Applies to Source Connectors

All

Applies to Destination Connectors

ServiceNow

Assumptions

These instructions assume you have already setup a destination connection in CI Sync for ServiceNow.

Pre-Read

Syncfish recommend customers read the following documentation before changing the Connection Setting/s described below.

  1. Understanding the use of CI Sync Connection Settings

  2. Rule 14 – Synchronize or Suppress updates to customer-maintained Companies in ServiceNow

Locating and Amending the Connection Setting in the CI Sync UI

  1. Navigate to the Settings page

  2. Under the Destination Connections heading (list), locate your ServiceNow connection (it will be either a Non-PROD “TEST” connection or the “PROD” connection depending on which one you need to amend).

  3. Click the Update link on the right-hand side of the ServiceNow connection.

  4. Scroll down and locate the Additional Settings Heading and view the Individual Connection Setting related to this guide.

suppress updates to customer maitained companies.jpg

The screen shot is provided only as sample to assist when reading this page. The state of your own CI Sync UI will depend on whether you are starting from the CI Sync default position or if you have already amended one/more of the settings.

  1. Tick the Override default box/boxes and then use the sliders related to the individual settings.

  2. The following table elaborates any further information about these particular settings.

Setting

Type

Additional Notes

Suppress updates to customer-maintained Companies

Slider

When enabled, this will prevent CI Sync updates to Company (core_company) records created by or updated by the Customer.

  1. After modifying the settings, scroll to the bottom of the page, tick the “I consent…” checkbox and finally click the Save connection button.

  2. You can now run a sync job and the amended settings will be applied causing the CI Sync Data Sync rules to be modified accordingly.

Importantly

Make sure you consciously override the setting against either your TEST or PROD environment (i.e. your TEST vs PROD sync jobs).

For more information on how to use TEST vs PROD Connection Settings please read Understanding the use of CI Sync Connection Settings.

Syncfish strongly recommend making changes for TEST environment/sync jobs first. Only modify PROD related settings after thoroughly validating the intended results in TEST.